
Advanced Practice Registered Nurse 
Licensure Requirements 

The following information is the general information needed for licensure and does not reflect 
other information that may be requested based on review of an application.    

Application and Fee 

1. Apply on-line at www.maine.gov/boardofnursing.  Select “I want to apply for a license” 
and follow the directions.

2. Upload a current picture (not a copy of a driver’s license, ID, or passport).

3. Upload a signature page that is manually signed (electronic signatures are not 
accepted).  The on-line process will provide information where to find this form or go to 
www.maine.gov/boardofnursing and the form is located in the licensing section.

4. Send in supporting documentation.  All “yes” responses to questions in the disciplinary 
section of the application require a signed explanation (and court documents for any 
incidents that occurred less than 10 years ago).

• Maine State Board of Nursing, 158 SHS, Augusta, ME 04333-0158; or

• APRN.PFRNursing@maine.gov

5. A non-refundable application fee of $100.00.

Active Registered Professional Nursing License 

1. An active registered professional nursing license in Maine is required; or evidence of an
active registered professional nurse license in another compact state where the
applicant legally resides

2. Complete verification of registered professional nurse licensure at www.nursys.com
($30.00 fee, Visa, or Master Card).

http://www.maine.gov/boardofnursing
http://www.maine.gov/boardofnursing
mailto:APRN.PFRNursing@maine.gov
http://www.nursys.com/


Proof of National Certification 

 
1. The national certifying body must send or e-mail a copy of a document verifying current 

certification in the specialty the applicant is applying for. 
 

• Maine State Board of Nursing, 158 SHS, Augusta, ME 04333-0158; or 

• APRN.PFRNursing@maine.gov  

 
Official Transcript 

 
1. The APRN program must send or e-mail a final transcript with the degree and date 

conferred to: 
 

• Maine State Board of Nursing, 158 SHS, Augusta, ME 04333-0158; or 

• APRN.PFRNursing@maine.gov  
 

2. If the APRN program was a post master’s certificate program, both the master’s and 
post master’s certificate transcript must be submitted. 

 

Prescriptive Practice Requirements (Nurse Practitioners, Nurse Mid-Wives, 
Nurse Anesthetists) 

 
1. Transcripts must reflect completion of a 3-credit pharmacology course; or the applicant 

must provide evidence of a 3-credit or 45 contact hours course that included: applicable 
federal/state laws, prescription writing, drug selection, dosage and route, drug 
interactions, information resources, and clinical application of pharmacology related to 
specific scope of practice. 

 
2. If the applicant has prescribed in the last 2 years, a letter (on official letterhead) signed 

by a supervising MD or NP verifying current prescriptive practice must be submitted. 
 

3. If the applicant has not prescribed in the last 2 years, 15 contact hours of Pharmacology, 
completed within the last 2 years, must be submitted. 
 

4. If the applicant has not prescribed in the last 5 years, 45 contact hours or a 3-credit 
pharmacology course completed in the last 2 years must be completed. 
 

Supervisory Requirements for Nurse Practitioners 
 

1. Nurse practitioners must be supervised for 2 years by a physician or nurse practitioner 
in the same practice category.  Registration of a supervisory relationship may be 

mailto:APRN.PFRNursing@maine.gov
mailto:APRN.PFRNursing@maine.gov


completed online at www.maine.gov/boardofnursing.  Select “I want to add or change a 
nurse practitioner supervisor” under online services.  The fee is $50.00. 

 
2. If the applicant has been supervised outside of the State of Maine, a letter (on official 

letterhead), signed by a supervising physician or nurse practitioner verifying supervision 
for 2 years, must be attached. 
 

Criminal Background Check  
 

1.  Maine state law authorizes the State Board of Nursing to require an applicant to 
complete the fingerprinting process for a criminal background check on initial licensure.  
Go to www.maine.gov/boardofnursing.  Select “I want to obtain a criminal background 
check” and follow the instructions.  The criminal background check results are only valid 
for 90 days. 

 

Important Information 

 
1. Applications are processed in the order they are received.  Status of an application may 

be checked by going to the following link:  www.maine.gov/boardofnursing.  Select “I 
want to check the status of an application” and follow the instructions. 

 
2. A license will be e-mailed to the current e-mail address on file with the Board. 

 

3. After verifying an active Maine state license on the Board website, enrollment with 
Nursys E-Notify is recommended.  Select “As a Nurse” to complete the registration 
process. 
 

4. Maintain current contact information with the Maine State Board of Nursing.  To update 
your information, go to www.maine.gov/boardofnursing and select the appropriate 
option in the “I want to” box.    

http://www.maine.gov/boardofnursing
http://www.maine.gov/boardofnursing
http://www.maine.gov/boardofnursing
https://www.nursys.com/EN/ENDefault.aspx
http://www.maine.gov/boardofnursing

